Match Report:
32 competitors braved Storm Ciara and travelled to Chichester Rifle Club for the 2020 WWSSBRA Winter Open. The WWSSBRA Winter Open is a 25 yard Prone and Benchrest event.

Robert Dowling would like to congratulate all event winners (below).
W. Baird (Havant) - Cox Cup, A Class Prone, Veterans
W. Wells (Cuckfield) - B Class Prone
J. Robbins (Petworth) - C Class Prone
T. Smith (Havant) - D Class Prone
P. Francis (Carshalton) - A Class Benchrest
R. Ellams (Chichester) - B Class Benchrest
M. Osment (Mars & Minerva) - D Class Benchrest
N. Carter (Chichester) - Millennium Trophy
O. Howlett (Chichester) - Juniors
S. Carr (MJMRC Fittleworth) - Ladies
MJMRC Fittleworth - Team of Three, Prone Pairs
Chichester A - Benchrest Pairs

The prone events were very tightly contested, with the overall winner W. Baird of Havant relying on a 99 on the last card to beat H. Matheson of Chichester on countback, who finished with a 98. W. Baird's score of 295 ex. 300 was enough to see him take home the Cox Cup (Prone Champion) as well as earn him top spot in the Veterans Prone event and the Class A Prone Aggregate. In the B Class Prone Aggregate only 2 points separated 1st and 3rd; third place went to K. Ballard of Burgess Hill with a score of 290, in second was P. Leggett of Chichester on a score of 291 and in first place was W. Wells of Cuckfield with a score of 292. J. Robbins of Petworth posted a score of 282 to win the C Class Prone Aggregate. The D Class Prone Aggregate was won with a score of 267 from Havant's T. Smith.

The Team of Three event was a very close run contest as well, MJMRC Fittleworth and Chichester both scored 873 and thus countback was used to decide the victor once again. Chichester who scored 292 on their last cards were narrowly defeated by MJMRC Fittleworth with a score of 293 on their last cards. S. Carr of MJMRC Fittleworth was the only person to score 100 ex. 100 in the prone events and this proved to be crucial in the Team of Three event as she achieved this on her last card, which was the deciding factor when it came to countback. MJMRC Fittleworth are clearly a team to be reckoned with as they also managed to win the Prone Pairs event.

In the other prone competitions; the Ladies event was won by S. Carr with a score of 293, the Juniors was won by O. Howlett of Chichester with a score of 263 and in the dropped points handicap event, N. Carter of Chichester came out on top, posting a score of 292.857, narrowly beating fellow club mate I. Stannard who scored 292.778. As a result N. Carter took home the Millennium Trophy, which is awarded to the competitor from C or D Class with the best score relative to their average. 

The Benchrest aggregate proved to be just as tight as the prone events, with R. Ellams of Chichester pipping G. Crocker of Havant on countback for the B Class Benchrest aggregate. Going into the final card of the A Class Benchrest aggregate there was very little in it, J. Booker of Southwick was just 1 point in front of P. Francis of Carshalton. However, on the last card P. Francis posted his third successive 99, which proved to be more than enough to secure his victory as J. Booker returned a 96. M. Osment of Mars & Minerva won the D Class Benchrest aggregate with a score of 248.00. The Benchrest pairs event was won by Chichester A (585.14), who beat Chichester B (582.05).

I would like to thank everyone who came to the 2020 WWSSBRA Winter Open and I would also like to thank everyone who helped on the day and in the lead up to the event. Without the hard work of all the volunteers events like this would not be possible. The efforts of the competition organisers, range officers, scorers and general helpers are very much appreciated. 

Kind regards,

Robert Dowling
WWSSBRA Competition Secretary

 Photo credit: Worthing & West Sussex Small-bore Rifle Association.

Bill Baird

W. Baird with the Cox Cup, Veterans and Class A Prone Agg. Main event winner.


John Booker

J. Booker Class A Benchrest Agg runner up.

Keith Ballard

K. Ballard Class B Prone Agg third place.

Sara Carr

S. Carr Ladies Prone Champion.WWSSBRA Winter Open Results 2020 Page 1WWSSBRA Winter Open Results 2020 Page 2WWSSBRA Winter Open Results 2020 Page 3WWSSBRA Winter Open Results 2020 Page 4WWSSBRA Winter Open Results 2020 Page 5WWSSBRA Winter Open Results 2020 Page 6

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience. We do not use any cookies to collect or share personal information.
You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.