The Shooting Council is governed by Articles 38 to 43 of the NSRA’s Articles of Association. The Council normally meets three times a year. Its duties include:

  • establishing the rules or conditions for competition
  • making recommendations to the Board of Management on all aspects of the sport of target shooting
  • the determination of Shooting Matters and
  • the election of members to serve on the committees established by the Board of Management.

The membership of the Council comprises:

  • The Members of the Board of Management
  • Administrative Members (A maximum of nine, elected by the Shooting Council).

    Current Administrative Members

    M J Chapman A N Gibbons Mrs A J Millar
    P Jones  T Metcalfe  
  • Members Nominated by County Associations
    One member nominated annually by each NSRA-affiliated County Association (Category C).

    Current Nominated Members

    Where requested by a Nominated Member, there is an email link to enable shooters and clubs in the County to contact their County's representative.

    Aberdeenshire J R W Latimer
    Ayrshire C Fox
    Bedfordshire A Mann
    Berkshire P G Strong
    Buckinghamshire Mrs J Nicholl
    Caithness H Simpson
    Cambridgeshire W Cowell
    Cheshire and North Wales H C Taylor
    Cornwall P Ralph
    Cumbria and Northumbria E Thorn
    Derbyshire S Favell
    Devon D Lemon
    Dorset A Todd
    Durham and Cleveland B Lamb
    R Hackshall
    Fife and Kinross I Henderson
    Forth and Clyde R R Simpson
    Gloucestershire E Hatcher
    Hampshire Dr C J Gadsden
    Herefordshire T Horsfield
    Hertfordshire Mrs Y Edwards
    Isle of Man B T Jones
    Jersey P Le Marinel
    Kent Ms S Norman
    Lancashire P Holdstock
    Lincolnshire A Collick
    Lothian & Borders Mrs A Hamilton
    Middlesex M Phipps
    Norfolk Miss V Minett
    Northants, Leics and Rutland D Poxon
    Northern Ireland West S D R Kelly
    Nottinghamshire S Bett
    Oxfordshire J Sims
    Perthshire I G Gray
    Shropshire R S Heath
    Somerset S D Jones
    Staffordshire M B P Willcox
    Suffolk W H Bond
    Surrey D Brigden
    Sussex Mrs E Twyford
    Ulster Counties (East) Vacant
    Warwickshire M Doble
    Wiltshire J Harris
    Worcestershire Vacant
    Yorkshire J R Osborn
  • Invited Observers
    A number of organisations and groups are entitled to appoint Invited Observers on a non-voting capacity.

    • Civilian
      British Field Target Association Vacant
      British Pistol Club R Fillery
      British Schools RA Vacant
      Civil Service Sports Council TSA Mrs L Martin
      Disability Target Shooting GB Mrs M Pankhurst
      English SSU M T White
      National Crossbow Federation Vacant
      Police Sport UK Vacant
      Preparatory Schools RA Mrs M Eveleigh
      Scottish SRA I Thomson
      Women’s Rifle Vacant
    • Armed Services
      Air Training Corps C Eveleigh
      Army RA MJR A Kyle
      Council for Cadet Rifle Shooting P Turner
      Royal Air Force SAA C Steele-Benny
      Royal Naval Reserve RA Vacant
      Royal Navy and Royal Marines TRA R Brown
      Sea Cadet Corps B M Madden
      Territorial Army RA R Bruce
We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience. We do not use any cookies to collect or share personal information.
You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.